Posted on

Death Remembered (A Sleuthing Club Mystery: Book 1) by K E Coburn

Summer 1952

The sun is shining, the birds are singing, but Charity Nicholls is bored of her quiet life in a tiny English village where nothing ever happens. Other than her nagging, marriage-obsessed mother, all she has to fill the time are her dreams of becoming a writer, and the Sleuthing Club – the mystery-reading book club she attends every week.

But everything changes the day her father receives a poison pen letter.

With the help of the Sleuthing Club, particularly handsome Henry Taylor, Charity is determined to find the culprit. But when people start dying and the police arrive, led by the infuriating Inspector James Lawrence, her little village becomes a hotbed of crime.

Can Charity find the murderer before anyone else dies?

Perfect for fans of Helena Dixon and T E Kinsey.

My review

What an utterly enjoyable book! I revelled in every word.

The 1950s don’t seem to get much of a look-in when it comes to literature, but it’s a fascinating and important period when the world was pulling itself back together after the physical and emotional devastation of the Second World War. In a way Charity embodies the spirit of the time: tragedy in the background but quietly determined to live life to the full and to contribute as much as possible to making the world a better place. However, that’s not easy for a rather sheltered young woman.

The setting of a 1950s’ village is wonderfully portrayed. It’s not as quiet and calm as it might seem on the surface, but there’s a strong community spirit and eccentricities are tolerated, but probably commented on in private! So when murder rears its ugly head, the ripples spread throughout the village. Charity finally feels she can do something exciting and useful. She seizes the chance to get to know the suave Henry Taylor even better and spend time with him. Is he the one for her? Charity hopes so.

A lot of thought as well as talent has gone into the creation of this debut novel. Mystery, romance, historical insights and wonderful characters fill the pages of this absorbing novel, the first in a series. And the cover is super, don’t you agree?

I can’t wait to see what Charity gets up to next!

Purchase Links

UK –https://amzn.to/2LnXba7

US – https://www.amazon.com/Death-Remembered-Sleuthing-Club-Mystery-ebook/dp/B088FR2J99/

 

Author bio

K E Coburn lives by the seaside in Kent, England, and spends her time plotting murders and mayhem for her imaginary friends in the Sleuthing Club!

As well as having a master’s degree in history, she’s a huge fan of everything vintage, especially the 1950s, and loves researching this interesting period. Nothing makes her happier than looking at old photographs, drinking old-fashioned cocktails, and doing as little work as possible.

Her debut novel Death Remembered: A Sleuthing Club Mystery (Book 1) will be published in July 2020.

If you fancy keeping up to date with her murderous plots you can find her on Twitter at @KeCoburn or at her website: www.kecoburn.com and on Facebook at: https://bit.ly/2SYgQSo

or at her website: www.kecoburn.com and on Facebook at: https://bit.ly/2SYgQSo