Posted on

A New Life for Ariana Byrne by Liz Hurley: deft and delightful

What happens after all your dreams come true?

Ariana Byrne knows how to survive. After becoming guardian to her four little sisters after their parents died when she was only eighteen, she had to grow up quickly. Now she’s in her twenties, stuck in a loveless marriage to Greg, trying to make ends meet for her young twins, William and Leo.

So when Ari is told that she’s actually the Right Honourable Lady de Foix, Countess of Hiverton, owner of a sprawling estate in the village of Saxburgh in Norfolk, her first instinct is laughter. Surely the girl who has to choose between food and keeping the lights on isn’t really rich beyond her wildest dreams?

She knows how to take care of her sisters and her children, but how on earth can Ari take care of an entire village? Can she fight off the circling land developers from Saxburgh, and stop her in-laws from grabbing all the money for themselves?

And while she’s struggling to settle in and settle down, she’s making new friends and new mistakes. Trusting her gorgeous neighbour, Sebastian Flint-Hyssop, may be the biggest one of all…

She’s swapped sink estate for country estate…but can a girl from inner city London learn how to become a Lady?

Take a trip to Hiverton Manor for the most uplifting novel of 2020 – guaranteed to put a smile on your face! Fans of Jenny Colgan, Trisha Ashley and Carole Matthews will love this romantic, feelgood read.

 

My review

Oh dear, I’m late reviewing this wonderful book. Sincerest apologies to talented author Liz. I wrote the wrong date down in my book review diary – truly a ‘senior moment’.

But here I am, better late than never.

A New Life For Ariana Byrne is a heartening, truly uplifting story. After a tough start to her adult life, things start to come right for Ari, who’s had to grow up quicker than she should. She finds herself transported to Norfolk, where she can establish a new life for her family. And mybe a new chance at love.

Ari is likeable, determined and genuine. She’s a modern mother hen, caring deeply for her children and sisters but she’s a truly twenty-first century young woman. We really care about her and become totally invested in the story. And she’s not the only fascinating character. There are plenty more thoroughly engaging people to meet, good and bad, all different and appealing in their own way.

The settings are beautifully handled. Early in the book, when Ari is struggling, her surroundings seem constraining and harsh, but once she moves to the estate there’s space, light, possibilities. There are shadows on the horizon but Ari can cope with those.

I particularly love how the author has combined the very realistic hardship of struggling to make ends meet with Ari’s slightly magical rise to riches. This demonstrates both deftness of plot and great skill by the author to marry these two elements in the story and make each so convincing.

I can’t wait to read more from Liz Hurley and I’m delighted that Ari has four sisters whose stories she’s going to share with us.

 

 

Purchase Links

AMZ: https://amzn.to/2NKQuAm

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2uPB0ob

Apple: https://apple.co/2RsuI5z

 

Author Bio –

When I grew up I wanted to be an underwater archaeologist or an astronaut but I ended up in a library. Everyone laughed as I’m not a naturally quiet person but I loved it. I went on to become a professional librarian for the money and the glamour. Not finding quite enough of either my husband and I set up a bookshop.  We didn’t find much there either so I started writing. Now I have loads of money and glamour but only in the pages of my books! In the meantime I dive and look at the stars.

 

Social Media Links –